Te Au Maaro o Ngāti Pūkenga

Te Au Maaro o Ngāti Pukēnga is the mandated entity charged with negotiating a settlement of all the historical Treaty claims for Ngāti Pukēnga.

The title, Te Au Maaro refers to a picked band of warriors ‘the braves’ of the tribe drawn together in times of need. This is the role of Te Au Maaro who are drawn from our kainga to achieve the best outcome for our people. Te Au Maaro is also a metaphor of the 4 kainga being 4 streams coming together to create one powerful current.

The Te Au Maaro Negotiating Team is called Te Matakahi. Te Matakahi is the wedge battle formation who go forth to split the enemy ranks, in this case, the Crown. ‘Te Matakahi’ are charged to bring home the Ngāti Pukēnga settlement.

The Trustees

Pictured from left to right;
Seated: Rehua Smallman (Chairperson), Hon. Chris Finlayson (Minister for Treaty Settlements), Rahera Ohia (Lead Negotiator)
Standing: Gina Berghan (Trustee), Harry Mikaere (Trustee), Verna Ohia-Gate (Trustee), Bella Williams-Wilson (Trustee), Hori Parata (Trustee), Pierre Hawira (Trustee), Jim Wilson (Trustee), Patsy Reddy (Crown Chief Negotiator)

Rehua Smallman (Chair)

Rehua manages the Pirihima and Patetu Trust and is a Director of Kiwi 360 and Te Awanui Huka Pak Cooperative.  He has completed the Institute of Directors training programme along with Shane and Awanui, is currently Chair of Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi ki Tauranga Trust and has served on a number of other Trusts over the years.

Bella Williams – Wilson (Trustee)

Bella has ten years’ experience as a Trustee of Ngāti Pūkenga ki Waiau Incorporated Society and has a diploma in Social work.  Prior to business ownership with Jim Wilson, she was a social work practitioner with Baptist Family Services and CYFS in Mangere and is currently studying towards a postgraduate diploma in counselling.

Hori Parata (Trustee) 

Hori is a Kaitiaki and cultural advisor to the Resource Management Unit of the Ngatiwai Trust Board. Kaitiaki of the ‘Kiore’ (Rattus Exulans). Kaitiaki of Ngatiwai Whale Resources Recovery Unit. Ngatiwai Kaiwhakahaere for Wai262 flora, fauna and Maori Intellectual Property. Wai245 claimant for Te Whanau o Te Hinetapu. 

A member of the Kahui Kaumatua for the environmental Protection Agency. Chairperson of the Tangatawhenua Ropu on the Kauri Dieback Response Program of the Ministry for Primary Industries, Chair of Nga Parirau Matauranga Trust which is the sponsor for ‘Te Pumanawa o te Wairua’ (Te Kura Hourua ki Whangaruru, Advisory Member of SWAP (Sawmill Workers Against Poisons) in Whakatane. Doctoral Student with Te Wharewananga o Awanuiarangi in Whakatane.

Pierre Hawira (Trustee)

Pierre runs his own distribution business and is a former Trustee of Te Runanga o Ngāti Pūkenga ki Tauranga Trust

Gina Berghan (Trustee)

Gina is a Diabetes Nurse Specialist, completed a Master of Nursing in 2009.  She had an extensive nursing career spanning across District Health Boards, Primary Health Care and Non Government Organisations. Gina offers proven skills in leadership which involved the developement of a new Maori health service in the Bay of Plenty in 2010. Gina has extensive governance experience and is currently on the Diabetes New Zealand Board and Advisory Council, the Aoteroa College of Diabetes Nurses and Te Roopu Mate Huka. Her passion lies with supporting people and whanau to be the healthiest, living independent and productive lives.

Verna Ohia-Gate (Alternate Trustee)

Verna has over 15 years health sector experience: Public Health Commission; Ministry of Health/Maori Health; Public Health; ACC; part time for SL Group the business unit for Te Kaunihera o Neehi Maori, Nga Ngaru Hauora and Te Roopu Mate Huka.  She is currently serves as the Chair of Moana Communications (the Iwi radio station owned by Tauranga Moana Iwi).

Harry Mikaere (Alternate Trustee)

Harry is a very successful businessman, who is currently an interim Director in Aquaculture New Zealand Ltd; a Director of Tikapa Moana Enterprises Ltd, a director of Treaty Tribes Coalition, the Hauraki Maori Trust Board’s nominated Director on Hauraki Fishing Group Ltd and Tai Moana Marine Farms Ltd,  Director of Pare Hauraki Fishing Trust, a Director of Pare Hauraki Asset Holdings Ltd,   He has 38 years’ experience in practical, technical and policy aspects of the New Zealand fishing industry, including more than 33 years of aquaculture experience in the growing of mussels and oysters.

Harry and his wife Ruth own an Aged Care and Hospital Facility in Coromandel Township and a number of marine farms in the Tikapa Moana - Hauraki Gulf  and Manaia Harbour.  He is also a Trustee on the Hauraki Maori Trust Board and the Chair of Ngati Pukenga ki Waiau Society Incorporated,  Chair of Te Korowai Hauora o Hauraki, Chair Hauraki Primary Health Organisation. Harry is actively involved in the community and Regional and National matters of importance and significance.

Jim Wilson (Alternate Trustee)

Jim has a private sector background which spans 25 years in Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG) roles with the Watties group and Lion Nathan as a National Distribution Manager for Pepsi Cola.  Jim has run his own business as Distribution Contractor’s for the Tip Top Ice Cream Company before he joined Te Puni Kōkiri’s Māori Business Facilitation Service as an Account Manager for the Waikato region in 2001; Jim has since gone on to the position of commercial development manager in 2006 and now leads the service as national manager since June 2008.

Te Au Maaro

Trust Deed Part 1

File Size: 1.1 MB

Te Au Maaro

Trust Deed Part 2

File Size: 1.1 MB